The Use of Generators In Creative Writing

What?

A Name/ Place generator creates a name (usually pretty out there and unique) or a short description of a character of place. It can assist authors to break free from a “Mary Jane” or create the grandiose city you just couldn’t quite find the words to describe.

Why?

So, I’m a very… not…creative writer. I always struggle to come up with unique and catchy names. That’s why I find the invention of generators to be the best thing invented for the writing industry. “Why?” I hear you ask? Because sometimes you just want that perfect character names, or you’re having a writing block and you just need that little spark to get going again.

SO! Where Can I Find One Of These Ever So Useful GENERATORS?!

Below is a link to my favorite generator. It has a large array of different cultures, time periods, fantasy dimensions, elfen worlds etc.

FANTASY NAME GENERATOR

It is also pretty simple to navigate and doesn’t require you to input random words.

The next link below is to a sight I find slightly more difficult to navigate, but it is still quite useful, although it’s pretty similar to if you just go and look up baby names… If there was a category function.

BEHIND THE NAME

Finally, a link to a site which within it also contains further links to writing sources.

WRITING EXERCISES

Leave a comment